top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristen Adkins

How do I do a portfolio?

I've been asked that question so many times. There are many people who are homeschooling because the virtual option is not working out and they are wanting more control of their children's education. I've seen such an influx of clients and I'm so excited.


You may feel like it will be a struggle to prove to a teacher that you have done 'enough' this year. You may have heard the voice in your head (or from your mother-in-law) that you are not doing enough, you are not capable of teaching, and that teacher is going to show YOU when little Johnny "fails" his portfolio.


I'm here to put you at ease. I'm here to help you. I have a consultation business, not just a service to make some side money. I am here to build a relationship with you and listen to the areas that you are excelling in - as well as the ones you may need assistance in.

We are a team. We will come up with a solution to any academic issues that you are having - if any.


Just know that the first year is the hardest and that you are not alone. Each veteran homeschool mom had her first year and her mother-in-law also said the same exact things to her.


I'm not making fun of anyone's mother-in-law. I'm just saying that someone has probably been a naysayer in your homeschooling journey. Let's, instead, look at the portfolio and celebrate the accomplishments.


Let's figure this out.


You will need a binder, tabs, and the work your child did. A hole puncher would be nice; that would save a lot of trouble. Although I have had moms just use paper folders and no hole punching was required.

Divide up the subjects with tabs (or folders) -one for each subject: math, science, language arts, reading, and history (or social studies). You can add extra for good measure, but it's not a requirement. I'd like to see about 10 pages for each subject. Some pages from the beginning, middle, and end of the school year. If you started in March, then scale it down. Just five pages will suffice. Some from March and some from May. I do not require any paperwork (i.e., report cards) or school work done from the time the child was in school.


If you are not finished with your school year (i.e., you plan to school in the summer), that is ok. Just choose a stopping day and create the portfolio. I won't know the difference. You can pick up the school day tomorrow - just like nothing ever happened.


After I look at the portfolio, you will get a form that has your child's name and your name on it. It states your child has made acceptable progress. I have my teaching license number on it and my phone number (so you can call me again next year to set up an appointment). I sign that form.


You take that form with you to your home. Congratulations.


After 3rd, 5th, 8th, and 11th grades you take that form (not the binder or school work) to your local board of education. Always make a copy for your files first. I like to pop in and say "Hello". I like to say I've got the "official form that is required for the annual assessment of homeschooling students". They look at me a little funny when I say that????


She makes a copy and signs it and dates it for me as proof that I have turned it in. I like to go in person to put a 'normal' face with the homeschooling persona as well as make sure the right person gets the form. I hope my face is normal, actually?


You could also mail it as a certified receipt return. That is also a valid method that states it was delivered by the postal service, but that is where it ends. If they say they don't have it because it got lost, you'll have to submit it again. They are not going to be satisfied with you saying you have the post office receipt.


You keep that documentation for three years or longer if you prefer. I usually place it in my child's binder and keep it there as a memory forever.


If you wanted to complete a digital portfolio, that could be accomplished by simply taking pictures of the documents and uploading them to any media, and then sending that to me. I've had flash drives, Facebook albums, FB messenger messages of pictures, IG posts, Google Docs, and PDFs.


I have had them mailed to me, dropped off to me at my front door or on the porch, and dropped off to me in a parking lot. I have actually had one at my house from two years ago. I plan to return it as soon as I meet up with her again.


I recently created a YouTube channel to talk you through this process. You can find my page at this link https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpfJ-rFQ-guqn_G6c3GkP2A Hopefully you will find value so you can like, subscribe, and comment any questions there. Let me know if anything is unclear.


If you have any more questions, let me know. Comment below. Have a great day with your children. I'll see you in June.


270 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page